South Carolina Time-Keeping laws & HR compliance analysis

South Carolina Time-Keeping: What you need to know

Every employer shall keep records of names and addresses of all employees and of wages paid each payday, and deductions made for 3 years. In addition, employers must notify each employee in writing at the time of hiring of the normal hours and wages agreed upon, the time and place of payment, and the deductions that will be made from the wages. The employer has the option of giving written notification by posting the terms conspicuously at or near the place of work. Any changes in these terms must be made in writing at least 7 calendar days before they become effective (SC Code Ann. Sec. 41-10-30). Employers that violate this law may receive a written warning by the director of the Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation for the first offense and may be subject to a penalty of up to $100 for each subsequent offense (SC Code Ann. Sec. 41-10-80).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Inspection. Inspectors from the Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation may enter a workplace at a reasonable time and have the right to question any employer, manager, or employee, and inspect, investigate, reproduce, or photograph time records and payroll records for the purpose of determining whether a violation has occurred (SC Code Ann. Sec. 41-10-110).

Read more about Time-Keeping

South Carolina Time-Keeping Resources

Type Title
Calculators Weekly Payroll Time Sheet Calculator
See all Time-Keeping Resources