Mississippi does not have a state law that specifically requires private employers to offer maternity or pregnancy disability leave or accommodation.
Public employers. The Pregnancy Rules for State Employees require that pregnant women disabled by pregnancy be granted leave on the same terms as other disabled employees (MS State Policy and Procedure Manual Sec. 7.22.6).
Major medical leave may be used only after the employee has used 1 day of accrued personal or compensatory leave for each absence due to illness, or leave without pay if the employee has no accrued personal or compensatory leave.
Private employers. Some states have laws that require employers to grant male and female employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child, but Mississippi does not have such a law for private employers.
Public employers. The Mississippi employer requirements under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) provide that state employees are entitled to up to 12 weeks of unpaid family leave in a 12-month period for the birth of a child, for placement of a child for adoption or foster care, to care for an immediate family member with a serious health condition, or to take medical leave for their own serious health condition.
Employees may substitute accrued paid leave or personal leave for unpaid leave (MS State Policy and Procedure Manual Sec. 7.91.1 et seq.).