North Carolina does not have a state law that specifically requires employers to offer pregnancy leave. However, employers with 15 or more employees are covered by the North Carolina Equal Employment Practices Act and must provide the same leave benefits to female employees disabled by pregnancy as are provided to other employees with temporary disabilities.
This means that employers can provide leave for employees with temporary disabilities, including pregnancy disability, with or without pay, or not provide it at all, as long as all employees are treated the same in their requests for temporary disability leave (NC Gen. Stat. Art. 49 Sec. 143-422.1 et seq.).
A state employee who has been employed for at least 12 months and for at least 1,040 hours during the previous 12-month period is entitled to 12 weeks' leave during any 12-month period.
A temporary employee is covered if the employee has worked at least 1,250 hours during the past 12-month period. Any leave granted to a temporary employee is unpaid. This also applies to intermittent appointments (NC ...