Arizona Death of Employee laws & HR compliance analysis

Arizona Death of Employee: What you need to know

When an employee dies, employers must pay up to $5,000 in unpaid wages or other compensation for personal services to the employee's surviving spouse (AZ Rev. Stat. Sec. 14-3971). Before payment is made, the spouse must present an affidavit to the employer stating that:
• He or she is the surviving spouse or is authorized to act on the spouse's behalf.
• No application or petition for the appointment of a personal representative is pending or has been granted, or, if granted, the personal representative has been discharged or more than 1 year has elapsed since a closing statement has been filed.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
The superior courts of Arizona process probate cases and can provide employers with general probate information. Employers that are uncertain about legal requirements regarding payment of a deceased employee's wages should contact the clerk of the local superior court.
Last reviewed on April 5, 2017.

Read more about Death of Employee