Illinois Death of Employee laws & HR compliance analysis

Illinois Death of Employee: What you need to know

The employer must pay wages of up to $20,000 to the spouse of a deceased employee, plus $10,000 multiplied by the number of minor children and adult dependent children who resided with the surviving spouse at the time of the decedent's death. The same amount may be paid to the children of the decedent in equal shares if there is no surviving spouse. This provision applies only to small estates of $100,000 or less (755 ILCS 5/25-1).
The law applies equally to a surviving civil union partner.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Requirements. A spouse or child of a deceased employee must present to the employer a small-estate affidavit attesting to his or her right to receive the unpaid wages of the deceased employee along with a copy of the death certificate.
There is more information on grief management, helping employees following the death of a co-worker, and coping with the loss of a family member.
Last reviewed on May 18, 2017.

Read more about Death of Employee


Illinois Death of Employee Resources

Type Title
Letters Email Notice to Co-Workers of Employee’s Death
Policies Death of an Employee
See all Death of Employee Resources