Oregon Death of Employee laws & HR compliance analysis

Oregon Death of Employee: What you need to know

State law requires that all wages earned by an employee not exceeding $10,000 must be paid to the employee's surviving spouse. If there is no surviving spouse, wages may be paid equally to any dependent children or their guardians or the conservators of their estates (ORS Sec. 652.190).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
“Wages” means compensation based on time worked or output of production and includes every form of remuneration payable for a given period to an individual for personal services (e.g., salary, hourly wages, commission, and bonus).
If an employee's survivors cannot be located or if the wage debt exceeds $10,000, the employer should contact the local probate court for instructions.
There is additional and more practical information about death of a co-worker, grief management, and coping with loss of a family member.
Last reviewed on March 14, 2017.

Read more about Death of Employee