Rhode Island Death of Employee laws & HR compliance analysis

Rhode Island Death of Employee: What you need to know

Wages due to a deceased employee and totaling less than $150 are payable to the following (in order of priority):
• Surviving spouse
• Children over the age of 18
• Parents
• Brothers and sisters
• The person who has paid the deceased employee's funeral expenses
The payment may be made after 30 days from the death of the employee, provided the employer has no actual notice that formal probate proceedings have begun. The employer may require proof of the relationship of the person seeking payment to the deceased employee and a receipt for the payment. If the amount owed is more than $150, or if the employer has received notice of probate proceedings, the local probate court should be contacted for further instructions (RI Gen. Laws Sec. 28-14-6).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
There is more information on grief management, helping employees following the death of a co-worker, and coping with the loss of a family member.
Last reviewed on May 8, 2017.

Read more about Death of Employee


Rhode Island Death of Employee Resources

Type Title
Letters Email Notice to Co-Workers of Employee’s Death
Policies Death of an Employee
See all Death of Employee Resources