Tennessee Death of Employee laws & HR compliance analysis

Tennessee Death of Employee: What you need to know

An employee may designate a beneficiary to receive payment for any wages or salary due at the time of the employee's death. The law encourages employers to inform employees of this right when employees are hired. If there is no such designation by an employee, employers are authorized by law to pay a deceased employee's wages of not more than $10,000 directly to the surviving spouse or, if there is no surviving spouse, to the deceased employee's children. Wages of $10,000 or more must be paid to an executor or administrator or as otherwise ordered by the court of probate (TN Stat. Sec. 30-2-103). Employers that are unsure of their legal responsibilities should contact the local court of probate for instructions.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
There is more information on grief management, helping employees following the death of a coworker, and coping with the loss of a family member.
Last updated on May 2, 2017.

Read more about Death of Employee


Tennessee Death of Employee Resources

Type Title
Letters Email Notice to Co-Workers of Employee’s Death
Policies Death of an Employee
See all Death of Employee Resources