Virginia Death of Employee laws & HR compliance analysis

Virginia Death of Employee: What you need to know

An employer may pay all wages owed to a deceased employee up to $25,000 under the following circumstances:
• At least 60 days have passed since the employee's death; and
• No one has applied for appointment or been appointed by the court to serve as executor or administrator of the estate.
The wages may be paid to any successor (VA Code Sec. 64.2-602). A successor is any person, other than a creditor, who is entitled to all or part of the deceased employee's estate. Any payment made by the employer will constitute full discharge of the sum paid.
Thirty days after the employee's death, if no personal representative has been appointed, a successor may direct the employer to pay any wages owed to the entity handling the funeral arrangements, up to a maximum of $4,000 (VA Code Sec. 64.2-604).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
An employer should contact the circuit court of the county in which the employee resided at the time of death if there are questions about the distribution of a payment or if the amount owed exceeds $25,000.
An employer must report to the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry within 8 hours of the incident any work-related incident resulting in a fatality(VA Code Sec. 40.1-51.1(D)).
There is additional and more practical information about death of a coworker, grief management, and coping with loss of a family member.
Last updated on March 14, 2017.

Read more about Death of Employee


Virginia Death of Employee Resources

Type Title
Letters Email Notice to Co-Workers of Employee’s Death
Policies Death of an Employee
See all Death of Employee Resources