West Virginia Death of Employee laws & HR compliance analysis

West Virginia Death of Employee: What you need to know

Unless an employer has notice that a probate procedure has already begun, it may pay any wages due to a deceased employee, up to an $800 maximum, to the following individuals upon request (in descending order of preference):
• Surviving spouse
• Children who are at least 18 years of age, in equal shares
• Father and mother, or survivor
• Sisters and brothers, or the person paying funeral expenses
(WV Stat. Sec. 21-5-8a) In order to protect itself from liability, the employer should require that the person or persons requesting the payment provide identification and give a receipt for the payment. Once the payment is made, the employer is relieved of any further obligation to the employee's estate for the amount paid.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
There is additional information about death of a co-worker, grief management, and coping with loss of a family member.
Last reviewed on April 13, 2017.

Read more about Death of Employee


West Virginia Death of Employee Resources

Type Title
Letters Email Notice to Co-Workers of Employee’s Death
Policies Death of an Employee
See all Death of Employee Resources