North Dakota Records laws & HR compliance analysis

North Dakota Records: What you need to know

The information provided here highlights some of the more important recordkeeping requirements that apply to most employers in North Dakota, regardless of industry. There may be other state recordkeeping requirements that are specific to certain businesses or industries. In addition, there are many federal statutes that require employers to keep certain records related to employment. There is additional information on federal recordkeeping requirements.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Covered employers. All employers are subject to the recordkeeping requirements.
Required. All employers must record each employee's name, wages, wage rates, hours worked each day and week, job classifications, and other conditions of employment.
To be retained. Records must be maintained for 3 years (ND Cen. Code Sec. 34-06.1-07, Sec. 34-06-07, Sec. 52-01-02).
Unclaimed wages. Unclaimed wages are presumed abandoned 2 years after becoming payable. Such unclaimed wages must be reported and delivered to the state abandoned property office. Employers must keep a record of the name and last known address of the employee owner of the unclaimed wages for 10 years. (ND Cen. Code Sec. 47-30.1-15; Sec. 47-30.1-17; Sec. 47-30.1-31).
Covered employers. All employers with minor employees are subject to the recordkeeping requirements.
Required. Employers are required to keep on file certificate of employment for each minor employee.
To be retained. Certificates of employment must be maintained during the worker's duration with the employer (ND Cen. Code Sec. 34-07-02, Sec.34-07-05,Sec. 34-07-15).
Covered employers. All employers are subject to ...

Read more about Records