Alabama Telephones laws & HR compliance analysis

Alabama Telephones: What you need to know

There is currently no state law prohibiting talking on a cell phone while driving, except for those drivers under age 18 with provisional licenses.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Local ordinances. The city of Montgomery and over 20 other municipalities have prohibited talking on handheld cell phones while operating a motor vehicle.
Drivers are prohibited from texting or using a wireless device to write, send, or read a text-based message, instant message, or e-mail while operating a motor vehicle (AL 2012 H.B. 2).
Exemptions. The use of voice-activated communication devices to send text messages is allowed. Texting to report an emergency or contact emergency responders is exempt. Drivers may use Global Positioning System (GPS) navigation systems while driving; however, they may not program the device while the vehicle is in motion.
Enforcement. Violation of the law is a primary offense, meaning police officers may stop drivers they suspect of texting.
Those violating the law will receive a two-point violation on their driving record for each offense. Fines for violations are $25 for a first-time offense, $50 for a second offense, and $75 for subsequent offenses.
Local ordinances. Birmingham, Gadsen, and other municipalities have issued ordinances prohibiting texting or the use of other electronic devices while driving. Check with local authorities.
Reviewed December 2014–no changes needed

Read more about Telephones


Related Topics

More on this topic: