Mississippi Telephones laws & HR compliance analysis

Mississippi Telephones: What you need to know

Effective July, 1, 2015, driving while texting; writing, sending, reading, or retrieving electronic messages; or posting to social media is prohibited in the state
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
(MS Code Sec. 63-1-73).
Sending or receiving emergency, traffic, or weather alerts or messages related to the operation or navigation of the motor vehicle are exempted from the law.
The new law does not affect making or receiving cell phone calls while operating a motor vehicle.
The Department of Public Safety will administer the new law. Records of the citation will indicate if other traffic laws were broken and if there was any damage to the vehicle or other vehicles or injuries at the time of the citation.
The fine for violating the law will be $25 until July 1, 2016, when the fine becomes $100.
Last reviewed March 2015.

Read more about Telephones


Related Topics