Nevada Telephones laws & HR compliance analysis

Nevada Telephones: What you need to know

Drivers are prohibited from using a handheld cell phone or other handheld electronic device while operating a motor vehicle unless using it to report a medical emergency, criminal activity, or safety hazard. Cell phones may be used with earpieces that allow the driver to have both hands on the steering wheel (NV Rev. Stat. Sec. 484A et seq.).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Violation of this law is a misdemeanor. This is a primary law; law enforcement officers may stop motorists they believe are violating this law without other cause. Fines range up to $250, and a third offense in 7 years will result in suspension of the driver's license.
Emergency and law enforcement personnel are exempted from the law. Also exempted is two-way radio use that is not handheld, except for the microphone.
The law also prohibits motorists from typing or otherwise entering, sending, or reading nonvoice text messages or other types of electronic communications, including instant messages and e-mails, while driving.
Use of global positioning systems attached to the vehicle is exempt from the law.
Last reviewed March 2015.

Read more about Telephones


Related Topics

More on this topic: