Oregon Telephones laws & HR compliance analysis

Oregon Telephones: What you need to know

Cell phones/mobile communication devices. All drivers are prohibited from using a handheld cell phone or other mobile communication device while driving, including to make calls related to their jobs (OR Rev. Stat. Sec. 811.507).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Drivers over the age of 18 may use hands-free communication devices or accessories while driving that allow both hands to be on the steering wheel.
Texting. This law also prohibits all motorists from texting (receiving or transmitting messages) while driving.
Fines. Effective January 1, 2014, violation of the law is now a Class C traffic offense, with fines ranging from $160 to $500.
Exceptions. The law does not apply if the call is made to report a medical or other emergency and no one else in the vehicle is capable of summoning help. Emergency personnel, public safety officers, utility workers on assignment, and tow truck operators are exempt from the law.

Read more about Telephones


Related Topics

More on this topic: