Arkansas Layoff laws & HR compliance analysis

Arkansas Layoff: What you need to know

While Arkansas has no layoff notice requirements of its own, state agencies assist in enforcing the requirements of the federal Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act (WARN Act).
The WARN Act imposes restrictions on the way layoffs are handled. It is designed to give employees advance notice of a layoff in order to find another job or to seek retraining in a new occupation and to give the state adequate preparation to assist the affected workers.
There is a comprehensive discussion of the WARN Act available.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
The Shared Work Unemployment Compensation Program is a voluntary program designed to provide employers experiencing a business downswing with a way to retain trained personnel until business picks up (AR Stat. Sec. 11-10-601 et. seq.).
Under the Program, instead of a layoff, a group of workers' weekly hours may be reduced by at least 10 percent, but not more than 40 percent. To compensate for the reduction in hours and wages, the worker is entitled to weekly unemployment benefits proportionate to the reduction in the number of hours worked.
To qualify for benefits under the Shared Work Program, employees must be regularly employed by an employer whose plan to stabilize the workforce has been approved by the Director of the Department of Workforce Services.
For more information on the state's Shared Work Program, visit http://www.arkansas.gov/esd.
The WARN Act requires employers to notify their state dislocated worker unit when layoffs occur.
Employers in Arkansas should visit http://dws.arkansas.gov for additional details and contact information.
Last reviewed on January 19, 2017.

Read more about Layoff