Vermont Layoff laws & HR compliance analysis

Vermont Layoff: What you need to know

Vermont has enacted its own version of the federal Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act (WARN Act).
The NPLA requires employers with 50 or more employees to provide at least 30 days' advance notice to employees affected by a business closing or mass layoff. Because the NPLA differs from its federal counterpart, employers in Vermont need to be aware of and follow both state and federal laws.
There is additional information and a discussion of the federal WARN Act available.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
The NPLA applies to Vermont employers with:
• 50 or more full-time employees;
• 50 or more part-time employees who each work at least 1,040 hours per year; or
• A combination of 50 or more full-time employees and part-time employees who each work at least 1,040 hours per year.
The act also applies to public employers of the same size, including municipalities and school districts (21 VT Stat. Sec. 411 et seq.).
Before a business closing or mass layoff, a covered employer must provide 30 days' notice to:
• Employees who may be expected to experience an employment loss as a result of the business closing or mass layoff;
• The local chief elected official or administrative officer of the municipality; and
• The employees' bargaining agent, if applicable.
Covered employers must also provide 45 days' notice of the business closing or layoff to the Vermont Agency of Commerce and Community Development and the Vermont Department of Labor (DOL) (21 VT Stat. Sec. 411 et seq.).
The notice must include the approximate number and job titles of the affected ...

Read more about Layoff