Kansas Apprenticeship Training laws & HR compliance analysis

Kansas Apprenticeship Training: What you need to know

An apprenticeship is an on-the-job training program that combines classroom instruction or education with work performance under the close supervision of a skilled and experienced journeyworker in a craft, trade, or profession. The state's voluntary apprenticeship program is governed by the Kansas Apprenticeship Council (KAC).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
KAC helps employers develop apprenticeship programs, recommends standards for wages, hours, and conditions of employment, and approves and enforces the standards. It also receives and disburses federal funds. To the extent an apprenticeship issue is not governed by Kansas law, it is bound by the standards set forth by the federal Office of Apprenticeship (OA) (KS Stat. Sec. 44-661; 29 CFR 29.5).
The registered apprentice is required to attend related instruction each year of their apprenticeship. The instruction is arranged by the program sponsor along with technical assistance from KAC staff. Generally, the employer bears the cost of related instruction. The cost is offset by the apprentices being paid less than the skilled journeyworkers. Apprentices generally begin their training earning approximately 40 percent to 50 percent of the journeyworker rate. Typically, wages increase progressively with satisfactory completion of work assignments and related instruction.
A written agreement between the program sponsor and the apprentice, approved by and registered with the KAC, specifies the length of training and hours of related instruction. Most apprenticeship programs are three to four years in length, but the length of training is generally determined by standards adopted by the industry.
In Kansas, an apprentice must be at least 16 years old and have ...

Read more about Apprenticeship Training


Kansas Apprenticeship Training Resources

Type Title
See all Apprenticeship Training Resources