California Training laws & HR compliance analysis

California Training: What you need to know

Supervisory employees. Effective January 1, 2019, state law requires employers with five or more employees to provide supervisory employees with 2 hours of interactive sexual harassment training every 2 years (CA Govt. Code Sec. 12950.1). Under the state Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA), a supervisor is a person who has the authority to hire, transfer, suspend, lay off, recall, promote, discharge, assign, reward, or discipline other employees or who has the responsibility to direct employees, adjust their grievances, or effectively recommend that action. Employers are required to train supervisory employees located in California but not those who supervise California employees from a location outside the state.
Nonsupervisory employees. The law also requires employers to provide 1 hour of training to nonsupervisory employees every 2 years. The deadline for initial compliance is January 1, 2020. Under regulations issued by the Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH), the definition of "employee" includes full-time, part-time, and temporary employees.
Both supervisory and nonsupervisory employees must receive training within 6 months of hire or placement into their positions.
Seasonal and temporary employees. Beginning January 1, 2020, seasonal and temporary employees or any employee who is hired to work for less than 6 months must receive training within 30 days of hire or within 100 hours worked, whichever occurs first. Training for temporary employees is the responsibility of the temporary services employer, not the client.
Migrant and seasonal agricultural workers must receive training consistent with existing requirements for training nonsupervisory employees of farm labor ...

Read more about Training