State law in Illinois requires every employer with employees working in the state to provide sexual harassment prevention training annually to its employees (775 IL Comp. Stat. 5/2-109). The Illinois Department of Human Rights (IDHR) has produced a model training program. Employers must use the model training or establish their own training that meets or exceeds the standards under the law, including:
• An explanation of sexual harassment consistent with state law;
• Examples of conduct that constitutes unlawful sexual harassment;
• A summary of relevant federal and state statutory provisions concerning sexual harassment, including available remedies; and
• A summary of responsibilities of employers in the prevention, investigation, and corrective measure of sexual harassment.
Public employers. Each officer, member, and employee of a state agency must complete, at least annually, a sexual harassment training program (IL Comp. Stat. Ch. 5 Sec. 430/5-10.5). A person who fills a vacancy in an elective or appointed position must complete the required training within 30 days after beginning the position.
Proof of completed training must be submitted to the applicable ethics officer.
Licensed professionals. Required continuing education for state-licensed professionals must include at least 1 hour of sexual harassment prevention training, effective for license renewals occurring on or after January 1, 2020 (IL Comp. Stat. Ch. 20 Sec. 2105-15.5).
Supplemental training aimed at the prevention of sexual harassment in the restaurant and bar industry is required. Training must be provided annually to all employees, regardless of employment classification. It may be ...