In workplaces with 15 or more employees, employers must conduct an education and training program for new employees within 1 year of commencement of employment (ME Rev. Stat. Tit. 26 Sec. 807). When calculating the 15-employee threshold, employers do not need to count out-of-state employees unless the employees are telecommuting to the in-state workplace.
At a minimum, the training must include:
• The illegality of sexual harassment;
• The definition of sexual harassment under state and federal laws and federal regulations;
• A description of sexual harassment, utilizing examples;
• The internal complaint process available to the employee;
• The legal recourse and complaint process available through the Human Rights Commission;
• Directions on how to contact the commission; and
• The protection against retaliation provided under state law.
Employers must also conduct additional training for new supervisory and managerial employees within 1 year of commencement of employment. Training for supervisors and managers must include information regarding the specific responsibilities of supervisory and managerial employees, and the methods that supervisors and managers should take to ensure immediate and appropriate corrective action in addressing sexual harassment complaints.
The Maine Department of Labor (DOL) has a compliance checklist for employers
that covers the training requirements. Employers must use the checklist to develop a sexual harassment training program and must keep a record of the training, including a record of employees who have received the required training. Training records must be retained for at least 3 years and must be made available to the Maine DOL if ...