Connecticut Training (Construction) laws & safety compliance analysis

Connecticut Training (Construction): What you need to know

Contractors must provide employees who are mechanics, laborers, or workers who work on a state government public works project worth more than $100,000 for new construction or more than $400,000 for construction alterations or repair with an OSHA 10-hour construction safety training course or program.

For safety safety a Limited Time receive a FREE Safety Special Report on the "50 Tips For More-Effective Safety Training."  Receive 75 pages of useful safety information broken down into three training sections. Download Now

The Connecticut Department of Labor, Division of Occupational Safety and Health (CONN-OSHA) administers the 10-hour construction safety training rules in the state.

CONSTRUCTION SAFETY AND HEALTH PROGRAM
31-53b-1 to 31-53b-5 RCSA

Contractors who employ any mechanic, laborer, or worker on a state government public works project must ensure that such workers complete an OSHA-approved 10-hour construction safety and health course, program, or training before beginning work on such a project. Such workers must carry a card or certificate as proof that he or she has completed the 10-hour training.

Contractors who employ such workers must show proof of training for those workers with the weekly payroll form for the first week that each worker is employed on a public works project.

Applicable public works projects. The provisions of these rules apply to projects where:

  • The total cost of all new construction work to be performed by all contractors and subcontractors in connection with a public works project is $400,000 or more; or
  • The total cost of all work to be performed by all contractors and subcontractors in connection with any remodeling, refinishing, refurbishing, rehabilitation, alteration, or repair of any public works project is $100,000 or more.

Read more about Training (Construction)