New Hampshire Training (Construction) laws & safety compliance analysis

New Hampshire Training (Construction): What you need to know

All onsite employees of a contractor working on a state-funded construction project worth $100,000 or more must complete an OSHA 10-hour construction safety training course.

For safety safety a Limited Time receive a FREE Safety Special Report on the "50 Tips For More-Effective Safety Training."  Receive 75 pages of useful safety information broken down into three training sections. Download Now

The New Hampshire Department of Labor, Safety and Training Division administers the construction safety training program rules in the state.

CONSTRUCTION WORKER SAFETY TRAINING
RSA 277:5-a

Any contractor working on a state or local government public works construction project (i.e., construction, reconstruction, alteration, remodeling, installation, demolition, maintenance, or repair paid in whole or in part with state funds) worth $100,000 or more must ensure that all onsite employees have completed an OSHA-approved 10-hour construction safety training program. All employees are required to complete the program prior to beginning work.

The training program must use an OSHA-approved curriculum. Graduates must receive a card from OSHA certifying the successful completion of the training program.

Employees exempt from training requirement. The following individuals are exempt from the requirements of the OSHA 10-hour construction safety program:

  • Law enforcement officers involved with traffic control or jobsite security.
  • Flagging personnel who have completed the training required by the department of transportation.
  • All relevant federal, state, and municipal government employees and inspectors.
  • All individuals who are not considered to be on the site of work under the federal Davis-Bacon Act, including, but not limited to, construction and non-construction delivery personnel and non-trade personnel.

Read more about Training (Construction)