Alaska Enforcement laws & safety compliance analysis

Alaska Enforcement : What you need to know

Comparison: State vs. Federal

Rules. Alaska is a “state-plan” state; that is, it has a federally approved occupational safety and health regulatory program that covers private and public sector (state and local government) workplaces. Alaska’s criminal and civil penalties for workplace safety violations mirror the federal penalties.

For safety safety a Limited Time receive a FREE Safety Special Report on the "50 Tips For More-Effective Safety Training."  Receive 75 pages of useful safety information broken down into three training sections. Download Now

Administration and enforcement.The Alaska Occupational Safety and Health Section (AKOSH), a division of the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, administers and enforces workplace safety and health rules in Alaska.

State Requirements

TABLE 1: VIOLATIONS OF SAFETY LAWS

Prohibited Act Penalties
AKOSH: Serious violation of workplace safety or health standard Civil: AS 18.60.095(b): Up to $13,494 for each violation
AKOSH: Other-than serious violation of workplace safety or health standard Civil: AS 18.60.095(c): Up to $13,494 for each violation
AKOSH: Violation of posting requirements Civil: AS 18.60.095(g): Up to $13,494 for each violation
AKOSH: Repeat violation of workplace safety or health standard Civil: AS 18.60.095(a): Up to $134,937 per violation
AKOSH: Willful violation of workplace safety or health standard Civil: AS 18.60.095(a): At least $9,639 and up to $134,937 for each violation
AKOSH: Willful or repeat violation resulting in the death of an employee Criminal: AS 18.60.095(e): Up to $10,000 and/or up to 6 months’ imprisonment; For second and subsequent convictions, up to $20,000 and/or up to 1 year’s imprisonment
AKOSH: Knowingly making any false statement, representation, or certification with the intent to mislead Criminal: AS 18.60.095(f): Guilty of 2nd degree unsworn falsification

Read more about Enforcement