Minnesota law requires all private and public sector employers with more than 25 employees to develop safety committees at each worksite.
The state’s safety committee rules are administered by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (MDLI).
MN Stat. 182.676 and MN Rules (MR) 5208.0010 to 5208.1500
Criteria for Establishing a Committee
Employers with more than 25 employees, as well as smaller employers with an excessively high incidence of lost workdays, must establish safety committees consisting of representatives of labor and management. An "employee" includes an independent contractor engaged in construction activities and a person who has contracted with an independent contractor to supply construction services.
If an employer operates at more than one location, the employer must establish a safety and health committee at each of its establishments where 50 or more employees work (MR 5208.0020).
Small employer requirement. Employers with 25 or fewer employees are required to have a safety committee if their lost workday rate is in the highest 10 percent of all employers in their industry or if their insurance premium is in the highest 25 percent of all employers in the state.
The safety and health committees for any employer that has a workers' compensation insurance experience modification factor of 1.4 or greater or has a workers' compensation premium rate of $30 or more per $100 of payroll assigned to the greatest portion of the payroll for the employer must conduct workplace safety and health surveys at each of the employer's workplaces at least quarterly.
The safety and health committee must establish a system to ...