Pennsylvania Safety Committees laws & safety compliance analysis

Pennsylvania Safety Committees: What you need to know

Pennsylvania employers can reduce their workers' compensation premiums by 5 percent each year for up to 5 years by setting up a workplace safety committee that meets the requirements for state certification.

For safety safety a Limited Time receive a FREE Safety Special Report on the "50 Tips For More-Effective Safety Training."  Receive 75 pages of useful safety information broken down into three training sections. Download Now

An employer with a certified workplace Safety Committee is eligible to receive a 5 percent insurance premium discount annually (PA Tit. 77 Sec. 1038.2 et seq.; 34 PA Admin. Code 129.1001 et seq.). The committee will operate for the purpose of hazard detection and accident prevention. A committee and its members must:

  • Have operated for 6 consecutive months prior to submitting the application for certification
  • Have a minimum of 2 employer and 2 employee representatives
  • Meet monthly
  • Keep records of meeting agendas, attendance lists, and meeting minutes
  • Be trained by a qualified trainer in safety committee operation, hazard inspection, and accident investigation prior to submitting the application for certification
  • Receive annual training after obtaining certification

The discount will be applied for up to 5 years after the safety committee is formed, as long as the employer provides written proof that the committee operates continuously during that time.


Read more about Safety Committees


More on this topic: