Tennessee HazMat Transportation laws & safety compliance analysis

Tennessee HazMat Transportation: What you need to know

· Rules. Tennessee has adopted the federal hazardous materials regulations as they apply to hazardous materials motor carriers. There are route restrictions in Knox County for vehicles carrying hazardous materials.

For safety safety a Limited Time receive a FREE Safety Special Report on the "50 Tips For More-Effective Safety Training."  Receive 75 pages of useful safety information broken down into three training sections. Download Now

Tennessee has additional requirements for the transportation of radioactive waste.

· Administration and enforcement. The Department of Safety enforces the hazardous materials transportation regulations in Tennessee. DRH enforces the requirements for the transportation of radioactive waste.

ROUTE RESTRICTION
Rule 1340-06-1-.47

Vehicles carrying placardable quantities of hazardous materials are not allowed on or along Interstate 40 or Interstate 275 in Knox County between the intersection of those interstates with Interstate 640 on the west, north, or east. There are exceptions for shipments originating at or destined for Knoxville and service points on U.S. Highway 129 Blount County, and emergencies.

RADIOACTIVE WASTE TRANSPORTERS
Licenses
Rule 1200-02-10-.32

Anyone who transports radioactive waste into or within Tennessee is required to obtain a License-for-Delivery from DRH.

Applicants must submit an Application for Radioactive Waste License-for-Delivery form along with the license and certificate of liability insurance before any radioactive waste is transported to a disposal or processing facility in Tennessee. The license is valid for 1 year and expires December 31.

Fees
Rule 1200-02-10-.31

The application fee is $600. If the license is renewed, a fee of $600 is required for each year.

DHR's Application for Radioactive Waste License for Delivery and instructions are available here.


Read more about HazMat Transportation